An antigone for a time of terror the new york times

Search results for the keyword: «an antigone for a time of terror the new york times»

Tragedy and the Common Man » …of the "unchangeable" environment-comes the terror and the fear that is classically associated with tragedy.… But for a moment everything is in suspension, nothing is accepted, and in this… only place it can possibly lead in our time-the heart and spirit of the average man.… Copyright 1998 The New York Times Company. Movies2.nytimes.com

A 'Medea' for the ages - Los Angeles Times » Dec 17, 2002… Actress Fiona Shaw brings modern power to the play at a time when the… have appeared on New York stages, including Sophocles' “Antigone” and a trio…. At a time of terror alerts and talk of war, an exclusive diet of insular ... Latimes.com

Oedipus on the Road » It has taken Oedipus a long time, almost a year, to understand.… A few hours later she returns: `Father, you are calling me, you are calling me continually -- with your heart.… Ismene gives Oedipus a gourd and attaches it to his belt, and Antigone…. With horror, Antigone sees Oedipus kneel, stretch out his arms towards the ... Nytimes.com

New York Theater and Broadway Reviews | Time Out New York » Apr 16, 2019… Find out what to see onstage with help from Time Out New York's reviews of… Ain't Too Proud—The Life and Times of the Temptations……government is far from a democracy: It's a reign of terror, angst and mall fashions, ... Timeout.com

'The Crucible' as you've never seen it - The Washington Post » Mar 31, 2016… NEW YORK — For God's sake — or maybe the devil's — don't mess with Abigail.… Her Abigail — the teenager who sparks a reign of unholy terror among… a less -than-sensational fashion-forward “Antigone” that toured to the Kennedy… Previously, he worked for nine years at the New York Times, on the ... Washingtonpost.com

An 'Antigone' for a Time of Terror - The New York Times » Sep 30, 2017… In Kamila Shamsie's novel “Home Fire,” British Muslims contend with identity, terrorism and divided loyalties. Nytimes.com

REFERENCES » The New York Times, 29 Sept 2001. http://www.nytimes.…. Antigone Interrupted. New York:… Performance in a Time of Terror: Critical Mimesis and the Age of. Link.springer.com

A Chorus Remembers Michael Brown in 'Antigone in Ferguson… » Sep 14, 2018… Antigone in Ferguson: Off Broadway, Drama, Play: Closing Date: Oct. 13,…. (New York recently saw a similar mix of African-American spirituals and Greek… “It was the first time since my childhood that I saw my city come together as… it felt as if any barriers between the pity and terror evoked by atrocities of ... Nytimes.com

The Reign of 'Terror' - The New York Times » Oct 19, 2014… The rhetoric of terror continues to immerse us in a nightmare of skewed… are in danger of being labeled “soft” on terrorism, while the more ... Opinionator.blogs.nytimes.com

Janusz Glowacki, Polish Playwright of Terror and Dark Humor, Dies… » Aug 22, 2017… By the time Mr. Glowacki returned to Poland after the collapse of Communism… later plays: “Antigone in New York,” about homeless people living in a… Ben Brantley, reviewing the Vineyard staging for The Times, wrote, “The ... Nytimes.com

Recent

Cookies

We may use cookies to offer you a better browsing experience, analyze site traffic, personalize content, and serve targeted advertisements. If you continue to use this site, you consent to our use of cookies.

Terms & Privacy

The information forward from this site may be provided by third parties. We will not be responsible with outside links, contents from source of information, methods of using, using or consequence of contents with users. All direct or indirect risk related to use of this site is borne entirely by you, the user.

We use advertising companies as Google AdSense, to serve ads when you visit our website. These companies may use information (not including your name, address, email address, or telephone number) about your visits to this and other websites in order to provide advertisements about goods and services of interest to you. If you would like more information about this practice and to know your choices about not having this information used by these companies, see https://policies.google.com/technologies/ads.

My FB Home